5 Ways to Help With Anxiety/Depression

Everyone has those days where their anxiety feels like it’s at an all-time high or they’re in a slump. I’ve had plenty of those days. I can usually tell I’m slipping right away, but only because I know myself and my signs. Getting yourself out of a slump or relieving anxiety is not as easy as some may assume. Everyone is different in what triggers their anxiety or depression, so it’s easy to believe everyone’s different in the ways their anxiety or depression is relieved. Here is a short list of some of the things that help me pick myself up out of a funk or relieve some of my own anxiety. Give some of these a try if you feel like you’re out of ideas about how to alleviate some anxiety or depression.

  1. Clean

The cleanliness of the home is the cleanliness of the mind. Whenever I notice I’m in a slump or have been feeling particularly anxious lately, I’m usually able to look around and see a reflection of how I’m feeling in my apartment in the form of dishes and laundry that need to be done, an unmade bed, messy desk, or floors that need to be swept. I love cleaning the space around me as a way to pull myself out of a slump or to alleviate some anxiety because the mindless tasks of cleaning allow me to give my mind a break. Also, there is a major weight I can feel being lifted off my shoulders as I check the tasks off the list. This helps tremendously with anxiety. If you feel yourself falling into a slump or feeling down or extra anxious, make it a priority to clean up the space around you. You’ll be amazed by how much something as simple as washing the dishes and wiping down the counters can help pull you up.

  1. Work Out

It’s been scientifically proven working out boosts your mood. Even if it’s just taking a walk around the block, as long as you’re moving you’ll feel a difference. If I’m feeling down, chances are my gym attendance is suffering as well. As soon as I make my health my main priority, I notice my mood increasing and I can feel myself coming out of my funk. Find a sport or activity you enjoy and practice or play it. Take a yoga class. Hell, given the tragedies we’ve faced lately, take a self-defense class! You’ll know you’ve found the right workout when it’s not a workout to you.

  1. Clean Up Your Appearance

You’d be surprised by how much a haircut can make you feel like a completely different person. Even things as simple as washing your hair and face or doing a facemask can lift your mood. If you’re clean and confident in your appearance, you’ll feel far less anxiety. I find that even putting on some makeup helps me feel less anxious because I know I look at least halfway decent. I can easily tell I’ve been feeling down when I look in the mirror and see greasy hair and a broken-out face. As soon as I wash my hair and face and put some makeup on, I feel much better.

  1. Get Busy

It’s easy to do nothing. When you’re feeling down or sad, the easiest thing in the world, the only easy thing it seems, is to lay in bed and do nothing. Sometimes anything more seems like too much to handle. And it’s completely okay to have days where you really can’t do anything. The problem comes when you let those days become overwhelming in number. The best thing to do to stay away from those “nothing days” is to keep yourself busy. When you have too much free time on your hands, it’s easy to fall into a slump. When you’re busy, your mind doesn’t have time to wander to dark places and bring you down. So find a hobby, pick up a part-time job, volunteer, adopt a new sport or activity. It doesn’t matter what you’re doing, as long as you’re doing something.

  1. Get Up Earlier

If you would’ve asked me six months ago to wake up earlier in the morning, I would’ve laughed and told you where to go. I have never been a morning person, and I was content. I started having to wake up earlier when school started this year, but it was tough. I soon realized how much more I could get accomplished if I just woke up an hour or two earlier. I started by setting my alarm for 15 minutes earlier than usual, then 30, and so on until I was waking up at least 2 hours earlier than before. Not only am I getting much more accomplished, I’m also in a better mood. I wake up with a smile on my face and am thankful for another day on Earth. I love having my morning coffee and not feeling rushed to be ready on time. I even have started doing my homework in the mornings because I feel like my mind is clearest then. It hasn’t been muddled down by the stresses of the day yet. If you’ve noticed yourself needing more sleep than usual and are feeling like you’re in a slump, try getting up earlier. It will be shitty for the first few days, I won’t lie to you, but once you get used to it, I promise you’ll feel better. I prefer getting up early to sleeping in now, and I would’ve never thought I’d say that.

 

 

Of course, I’m no doctor. These tips are not meant to treat any mental illness, but they may help you feel better if you suffer from one. The best thing about finding things that work for you to help alleviate your anxiety is you know what signs to look for that give away your slump. For me, it’s a messy house, unkept hair, sleeping more often, and skipping the gym, among many other things. When you can recognize these signs early, you can get a reign on your feelings before they escalate into something more serious. If you’re in a dark place you feel you can’t get out of or having debilitating anxiety, don’t hesitate to talk to someone about it or get help. If you’re questioning whether or not you need to talk to someone, the answer is yes. Don’t feel shame in helping yourself!

As always, remember to keep a positive attitude and put yourself first.

 

Xo, Lauren

Leave a comment